23 Comments

You could always pick a new color for the books (but keep the format) and start a new series. It seems, from your last post, that you are in a different space artistically, mentally, and physically than when you first started your books. Maybe a new series of books to document from 40 and beyond is in order?

Expand full comment
author

YES. I always had a desire to try to make them in different colours and this could definitely be an opportunity to explore that. Thank you for the reminder.

Expand full comment
Nov 10, 2022Liked by Lina Scheynius

Hi Lina,

I’ve always loved the intimate size and format of your books. I have all of them except one. I am always checking to see if you are putting another one out. I’m for #12 and more. Thank you for putting great energy out into this world.

-adf

Expand full comment
author

Thank you, this is really good to hear!

Expand full comment
Nov 10, 2022Liked by Lina Scheynius

Publishing a twelfth one would mess up the "completeness" of the box set--what a wicked thing to do! And for that reason I hope you do it.

Expand full comment
author

Haha thank you for making me laugh!

Expand full comment
Nov 14, 2022Liked by Lina Scheynius

I really like your books so all in for another one always, but I also think you should go with your gut if you feel like experimenting! We'll follow :)

Expand full comment
Nov 12, 2022Liked by Lina Scheynius

new formats

Expand full comment
Nov 12, 2022Liked by Lina Scheynius

Personally I love seeing series that unfold over a long time - so the longer you can go on the better ;) I suppose it is a gut thing, it must also be exciting to choose the format according to the relationship of images, and question what you've learned and decided. From the way you phrased your question it seems you already have images that you would love to see in the format and language you've established.

Expand full comment
Nov 10, 2022Liked by Lina Scheynius

ideally you would do both, preparing another release of the current format as well as thinking about new directions. but this is often a difficult thing to do. as long as there’s no new, pushing idea going on in your mind and soul it‘s maybe better to stick with what has already worked

Expand full comment
author

Yes I have explored a couple of other formats (the newspaper print book Flowers and the very large double exposure book Touching) and am currently working on something very different from anything I have done before. But now I want to return to something I know I think. And it's wonderful to hear that my audience supports that.

Expand full comment
Nov 10, 2022Liked by Lina Scheynius

Continuing the format would be nice but since it’s a set of 11 a different format does make sense too - just looking at my bookcase and it would be like when I bought the Alien and Lethal Weapon trilogy boxed set in the 90s on VHS (remember them?) and then they went and made a fourth instalment 😂

New work is always welcome, whatever the format 😊

Expand full comment
author

Haha

Expand full comment
Nov 10, 2022Liked by Lina Scheynius

Another vote for #12 ...

Expand full comment
author

Yay

Expand full comment
Nov 10, 2022Liked by Lina Scheynius

your „little-white-book-series“ is so unique and nicely done. it would be great if you continue with that format. it suits your images so well.

Expand full comment
Nov 10, 2022Liked by Lina Scheynius

It's an excellent idea to keep it running, I love those small books. It is a sort of imagética diary, as an example ... Daido Moriyama Record collection it is now over 50 books ! All the best Lina.

Expand full comment
Nov 10, 2022Liked by Lina Scheynius

Awesome thanks! Hey Lina I sent you an email about launching a collection of your work as NFTs through my platform 96studio.xyz. Would love to discuss if your interested.

Expand full comment
author

Thank you, I will answer your email now!

Expand full comment
Nov 10, 2022Liked by Lina Scheynius

Let’s see #12! Are the boxes sets still available? I have a few but would love a complete set.

Expand full comment
author

Ahh, ok! :)

Yes you can still get the full box here: https://www.jbe-books.com/products/my-photo-books-lina-scheynius?_pos=2&_sid=c49cdbc8c&_ss=r

But I believe it's getting close to selling out and we won't reprint it again.

Expand full comment

As of today, May 2024, is there any plan to reprint the box set with all the previous 11 books? Unfortunately, it's sold out for a long time. Too bad if it will not be reprinted. :-(

Expand full comment
author

Hi, no we are not going to reprint it. You can still find it on the second hand market for an ok price I think. Good luck!

Expand full comment